Nermin Durakovic Bursary

NerminIn recognition of the tireless support that Nermin Durakovic gave to the founding of the Bosnian-British School of Pathology (BBSP), the British Division of the International Academy of Pathology (BDIAP) is delighted to offer a Nermin Durakovic bursary to young Bosnian pathologists for further educational purposes.

The BDIAP acknowledges that Nermin was a fine interpreter and guide for Acorn Aid when Professors Geraint Williams and Neil Shepherd attended for the first BBSP at Sarajevo University in August 2007. Nermin had suffered with illness for several years, yet was always ready to help others with Acorn Aid and cheered many with his warm smile, quick wit and sharp intellect. He died on 24th February 2010, aged 34 years, in Bosanska Krupa, NW Bosnia.
The success of the BBSP, now the Bryan Warren School of Pathology, was a joy to him, and he would have wished for any aspiring young Bosnian doctor in difficult personal circumstances to qualify for this special award.

A maximum of 3 bursaries, each of up to £2,500 for travel, accommodation etc, will be given on a biennial basis for the successful recipients to attend the International Academy of Pathology Congress; those providing abstracts at the Congress will be given preference.



Applicants for a Nermin Durakovic bursary to attend the IAP and ESP Symposium in Cologne should still be in training or newly appointed to a senior post and should be giving an oral or poster presentation at the meeting for which they are either first author or have contributed significantly to the study. In certain instances, and if there are special circumstances, an exception may be made and older pathologists considered for an award. There will be a reduced registration fee of $200 for bursary recipients. Applications for a bursary using the form from the link below should be sent to the BDIAP Divisional Editor, Dr. Nafisa Wilkinson, either by e mail or post via the BDIAP administrator (see below), together with a copy of the abstract to be presented. If the on-line form is used, then an abstract must be sent separately.

All applications should be received by May 31st 2016 and will be considered by June 30th. Successful applicants will be contacted by e mail.

Please note that successful applicants must register for the congress themselves, indicating that they are bursary recipients.

Dr Nafisa Wilkinson

e mail:

post: c/o Mrs Carol Harris, P.O Box 73, Westbury on Trym, Bristol BS9 1RY